59.2 F
New York
Thursday, June 17, 2021

Guard Rudy Gobert wins his third Defensive Player of the Year award

Dan Quinn won his first-ever Coach of the Year award in the NFL on Monday. Rudy Gobert won his third Defensive Player of the Year award.

Gobert, who won the award in 2017 after a dominant regular season, won it again this year after starting every game and making all 137 defensive stops for the Celtics. After a 30-point, 25-rebound performance against the Los Angeles Lakers, he was the leading vote-getter for the NBA All-Defensive Team.

Quinn, who served as the Atlanta Falcons’ defensive coordinator before the hiring, led the Falcons to the Super Bowl and a 37-20 win over the Philadelphia Eagles. The “Mad Scientist” has now received four Coach of the Year awards.

With two-time Defensive Player of the Year Von Miller, Andrew Bogut, Shkodran Mustafi, Johnny Hekker, and Angela Jenkins, among others, the Broncos came away with three of the five awards.

“The award definitely does not go to an individual player, it goes to the entire team,” Gobert said. “And for Atlanta, they gave Coach Quinn an opportunity to put in an unbelievable system that puts players in a position to succeed.

“I just want to say a big thank you to the Orlando Magic for having me here when I was growing up in France. It’s one of the best experiences of my life,” he said.

Latest news
Related news